Local educators honored by online learning provider for innovative teaching during pandemic

Educators from the VI Department of Education have been honored by representatives of Edmentum, an online learning provider, for their innovation in virtual teaching during the height of the Covid-19 pandemic, according to a statement released Monday evening. .

Recognition ceremonies were held on January 25 and 27 in Sainte-Croix and Saint-Thomas-St. John districts, respectively, to highlight educators who have shown exceptional leadership, skill and passion in using online technology to ensure students can continue to learn while schools were closed in due to COVID-19. The educators were nominated by their school administrators, Education said.

During the ceremonies, St. Thomas-St. John District Superintendent Dr. Stefan Jurgen and St. Croix District Acting Superintendent Ericilda Ottley-Herman commended the educators for their resilience and creativity.

STTJ-District-Honored The winners of the St. Thomas-St. John District (VI Dept. of Education)

“Every school has at least one shining star who has pushed and found an innovative way to not only move their children forward, but also their colleagues with them,” Ottley-Herman said. “In every building, there are teacher-leaders, there are friends, and everyone becomes a family. We wanted to turn our eyes inward and recognize the hard-working educators in the St. Croix District.

Jurgen praised the Department’s partnership with Edmentum.

“At the start of the pandemic, we thought our children were coming back after three weeks,” he said, adding, “but those three weeks turned into almost two years, but Edmentum was there. We didn’t have to look far, they reached out to us and informed us that there were additional services on their platform that we were already paying for that could be used to support us during the pandemic. We are grateful for their partnership.

Recognized educators in the St. Croix District included Chantelle Green-Quinones, John H. Woodson Jr. High; Shanice Joseph, primary Claude O. Markoe; Petrine Allen, primary Alfredo Andrews; William Cofiell, Sainte-Croix Educational Complex; Jacqueline Rosa, Eulalie R. Rivera K-8; Ashley Maynard, Juanita Gardine K-8; Wendy Wynter, Lew Muckle Elementary School; Etta Lee Pickering-Mitchell, Pearl B. Larsen PreK-8; Harolyn Smith, primary Ricardo Richards; and Zina Dore, Central High.

Recognized educators in the St. Thomas-St. John’s district included Judityh Henley-Charles; Jane E. Tuitt Elementary School; Jessica Sibilly, Jane E. Tuitt Elementary School; Omayra Ortiz Richardson, Lockhart Elementary School; Juanna Hart, Ulla F. Muller Elementary; Andria Collins Brown, Yvonne Milliner-Bowsky Elementary School; Sophia Neille, Yvonne Milliner-Bowsky Elementary School; Yolanda Riviera, Addelita Cancryn; Shawambi Brown, BCB Middle School; Miriam Rodney, Edith Williams Alternative Academy; Mary Felix, Charlotte Amalie High School; and Asliar Williams, Ivanna Eudora Kean High School.

Recognized school counselors in the St. Thomas-St. John District included Shaneen Bradshaw, Ivanna Eudora Kean; Kiri Catta, Joseph Gomez Elementary School; Lorna Daniel, Charlotte Amalie High School; Tameka Dewindt-Vanterpool, BCB Middle School; Alyster Edwards, Yvonne Milliner-Bowsky Elementary School; Melrona George, Charlotte Amalie High School; Youville Leatham, Addelita Cancryn; Tova Greene-Oquendo, Ivanna Eudora Kean High School; Vaniqua Gumbs, BCB Middle School; Onika Hodge-Smith, Charlotte Amalie High School; Myroon Hosein, Yvonne Milliner-Bowsky Elementary School; Celestina LaPenna, Jane E. Tuitt; Maria Lewis, Lockhart Elementary School; Monique Matthias, Ivanna Eudora Kean High School; Lloyd Maynard, Addelita Cancryn; Cynthia DeSouza, Julius E. Sprauve School; Annette Smith, Joseph Gomez Elementary School; Scherilette Smith, Joseph Sibilly Elementary School; Shernelle Smith, Addelita Cancryn; Marva Thomas, Ulla F. Muller Elementary; Simona Thomas, Edith Williams Alternative Academy; and Tiana Wilson Matthew of Ivanna Eudora Kean High School.

Get the latest news straight to your phone with the VI Consortium app.

Comments are closed.